74 matches in next 3 IPL seasons

There have been two fundamental issues related to 2011 IPL season. These two are the format of the tournament and player retention. These issues have been resolved by IPL’s governing council after a period of uncertainty following the adding of two new franchises.

There will be 74 matches each in the next 3 IPL seasons. This format is so designed in order to reward the teams which are most consistent during the tournaments league phase. The 2011 season begins after five days of the World Cup ending on April 2.

Retention of four players in the squad by the franchisees has also been approved by the governing council, rest of them being auctioned in November. The spending power of the franchisees for a squad consisting of 30 players is capped at $ 9 million.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *