Adelaide Strikers wins toss, elects to bat against Melbourne Stars

Adelaide Strikers captain Michael Klinger won the toss and elected to bat first in their do-or-die encounter with Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne.

The Melbourne Stars must beat Adelaide Strikers to move into fourth place and book a semi-final against the top-placed Perth Scorchers on Saturday night at the WACA.

The Adelaide Strikers also have an outside chance of making the finals with a big win here this evening, so they’ll be looking to post a huge total and bowl the Stars out cheaply.

The Strikers must defeat the Melbourne Stars by 80 runs, or reach the target they set within approximately 10 overs. This is the only way the Strikers can achieve a net run-rate ahead of the Heat to steal fourth place on the ladder.

New Zealand all-rounder James Franklin has been rushed into the squad to replace fast bowler Kane Richardson who has suffered a worrying back injury.

Test spinner Nathan Lyon and batsman Callum Ferguson have also been included in the squad at the expense of Daniel Salpietro.

Melbourne Stars: Robert Quiney, Luke Wright, Adam Voges, David Hussey, Cameron White (c), George Bailey, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Clint McKay, Jackson Bird, Shane Warne, Chris Simpson (12th).

Adelaide Strikers: Michael Klinger (c), Daniel Harris, James Franklin, Aiden Blizzard, Tom Cooper, Callum Ferguson, Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Aaron O’Brien, Alfonso Thomas, Nathan Lyon, Bryce McGain, Brendan Drew (12th).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *