Arun Harinath to Captain Surrey Second XI

Arun Harinath will captain the Surrey Second XI in both a One Day and a three day match against Kent at Cheam CC.

Harinath will lead a strong side that also includes Chris Schofield, Gary Wilson and Matthew Dunn – who will travel from Old Trafford where he is currently playing for the England Development XI against Sri Lanka A.B

Batsman Matthew Laidman, who plays for Leatherhead CC and Whitgift School, is also in the team along with Pemberton Greenish Academy spinner Alex Macqueen, who will be the Twelfth Man.

Tomorrow (Tuesday August 9th) will see Surrey play Kent Second XI in a forty over Second XI Trophy match, starting at 12pm and Wednesday, Thursday and Friday will see the two teams compete a three day Second XI Championship match, with each day’s play beginning at 11am.

After having the worst of a rain ruined match with Middlesex at Guildford last week, Surrey will be keen to bounce back and play some good cricket.

Surrey Second XI squad

  • Arun Harinath (Captain)
  • Chris Schofield
  • Matthew Spriegel
  • Gary Wilson
  • Rory Burns
  • James Crowson
  • Tom Jewell
  • Matthew Laidman
  • Matthew Dunn
  • George Edwards
  • Freddie van den Bergh
  • Alex Macqueen – Twelfth Man

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *