Australia announce Indoor World Cup Squads

Cricket Australia has announced the 12-player squads for 2011 Indoor Cricket World Cup will to be held in South Africa  in October.

Coach of the Australian ‘Extreme’ Men’s team Ross Gregory is confident his team can deliver on the high expectations of his side and add to its impressive record of having won each of the previous seven Indoor Cricket World Cups.

“Despite injuries to a number of key players, the depth of talent available has meant that we have the right mix of personnel to ensure Australia remains the number one indoor cricket nation in the world,” Mr Gregory said.

Australian ‘Extreme’ Women’s coach Donna Dalby was equally confident about her team’s prospects.

“The Indoor Cricket World Cup is the biggest challenge for indoor cricketers and we believe we have selected a squad that is up to the challenge,” Ms Dalby said.

Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket Program Manager Rod Kimmitt supported Mr Gregory and Ms Dalby’s comments and emphasised the burgeoning popularity of indoor cricket in Australia.

“With nearly 200,000 participants across Australia, indoor cricket is extremely strong and this is reflected in the strength of our national teams across all divisions,” Mr Kimmitt said.

“World-class events such as the Indoor Cricket World Cup demonstrate the worldwide popularity of the indoor form of the game and the tournament is central to the continued growth of the sport.”

The tournament will begin from October 9-15 and feature teams from Australia, South Africa, England, New Zealand, Wales, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, France, Guernsey and U.A.E.

Australian ‘Extreme’ Men’s squad

  • Travis Baker (VIC)
  • Vinesh Bennett (ACT)
  • Rhys Dearness (QLD)
  • Nick DeGrys (WA)
  • Rob Fitzgerald (QLD)
  • David Hankin (WA)
  • Ty Hopes (WA)
  • Jarrad Leach (WA)
  • Michael Ledgard (SA)
  • Mick Miller (QLD)
  • Michael Spargo (QLD)
  • Lyle Teske (QLD)
  • Coach – Ross Gregory (VIC)
  • Assistant Coach – Colin Robinson (QLD)
  • Team Manager – Billy Floros (ACT)

Australian ‘Extreme’ Women’s squad

  • Jude Coleman (QLD)
  • Rebecca Cook (QLD)
  • Elizabeth Hall (NSW)
  • Neisha Iles (SA)
  • Wendy Kemp (QLD)
  • Nicole Martin (VIC)
  • Melissa Mayers (QLD)
  • Briony Polkinghorne (VIC)
  • Rikki-Lee Rimmington (QLD)
  • Katrina Teske (QLD)
  • Elyse Villani (VIC)
  • Amy Wills (NSW)
  • Coach – Donna Dalby (QLD)
  • Team Manager – Maleah Harris (QLD)

Australian 19 & Under Boys squad

  • Blake Anderson (QLD)
  • Jacob Apicella (NSW)
  • Jarrod Armitage (VIC)
  • Jacob Chorazyczewski (QLD)
  • Matthew Dart (QLD)
  • Jack Daymond (WA)
  • Matthew Foster (NSW)
  • Jarrad Indraratne (SA)
  • Adam McDermott (QLD)
  • Keiran Perkins (VIC)
  • Nathan Ralph (SA)
  • Mark Rice (NSW)
  • Coach – Graeme Butler (WA)
  • Team Manager – Tony Panecasio (NSW)

Australian 19 & Under Girls squad

  • Piepa Cleary (WA)
  • Emily Cramb (QLD)
  • Megan Dixon (QLD)
  • Heather Graham (WA)
  • Lizzy Hayes (QLD)
  • Michaela Hill (QLD)
  • Emily Johns (QLD)
  • Krystal Oppermann (QLD)
  • Taneale Peschel (WA)
  • Laura Shaw (VIC)
  • Emma Walls (QLD)
  • Amanda Wellington (SA)
  • Coach – Renee Lee (QLD)
  • Team Manager – Glenda Hall (QLD)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *