Australia name Preliminary Squad for T20 World Cup 2012

Cricket Australia today announced its preliminary squads for the ICC World Twenty20 to be played Sri Lanka in September and October.

Nathan Lyon and James Pattinson surprisingly have not been inlcuded in Australia’s preliminary 30-member squad.

Offspinner Glenn Maxwell and Rob Quiney are the only two members of the squad who don’t have international experience.

National Selector John Inverarity said, “The ICC World Twenty20 will be a fiercely contested tournament.

“A great deal of flamboyant cricketing talent will be on display and some games will be turned on their heads by 10 minutes of brilliance.

“The squad announced today is full of talent, enterprise and all-round strength. Within the 30 players named is depth and cover for all departments within the team.”

The Australian men’s team is in Group B alongside Ireland and West Indies, with Australia’s first pool match against Ireland on Wednesday 19 September before playing West Indies on Saturday 22 September to decide who goes through to the next round.

Australia Squad for T20 World Cup 2012 (Preliminary)

George Bailey, Travis Birt, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Ben Laughlin, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Dirk Nannes, Stephen O’Keefe, Tim Paine, Rob Quiney, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

2 thoughts on “Australia name Preliminary Squad for T20 World Cup 2012

  1. Pankaj rathod

    I think according to me
    11 man’s squard of australia are should as follow….
    David warner
    Shane watson
    George bailey
    shaun marsh
    David hussey
    Matthew wade
    Cameron white
    Pat cummine
    Brad hogg
    Micheal johnson
    Ben hilfenhaus……..
    Bcoz 7 man should present to make a big score and 5 boller are sufficient including watson….and hussey is an extra boller in hand of captain……

  2. faraz

    i thng srilankan contion spiner track every team will play two spineer pak ajmal and afridi wi sunil narine and bishoo england swann and samit patel india harbhajan singh and ashwin or pragyan ojha south africa botha and pietersen srilanka jeevan mendis and lokrachi or ajantha mendis


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *