Australia squad for third Test

Cricket Australia has announced a 12-man squad for the third Test against India, which begins at the WACA on Friday 13 January.

James Pattinson is out of the remainder of the Test series against India after scans revealed the early signs of stress fractures in the metatarsal bone of his left foot.

New South Wales youngster Mitchell Starc has been added to the squad in place of Pattinson.

“James Pattinson has been omitted from the squad due to a foot injury and has been replaced in the XII by Mitchell Starc”, John Inverarity, the national selector, said.

“The intention of the National Selection Panel was to rest James from the Perth Test match as this young man has played in four Test matches over a period of just five weeks.”

“This intention has become a necessity after post match scans have revealed James’ foot injury.”

“The magnificent victory at the SCG has given Michael Clarke’s team considerable momentum and captured the imagination of the cricketing public of Australia.”

Queenslander Ryan Harris, who was 12th man for the Sydney Test, is the man most likely to be given a chance in place of Pattinson.

Australia squad: Michael Clarke (capt), David Warner, Ed Cowan, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (w/k), Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc.

2 thoughts on “Australia squad for third Test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *