Australia U19 squad named for tour to India

The Cricket Australia Youth Selection Panel (YSP) has announced a 14-player squad for tour to India.

National Talent Manager Greg Chappell said,”The YSP has made a number of changes to the squad that played matches against the West Indies in Dubai in April as some who were not there are now available for selection.”

“Unfortunately, Cricket Australia contracted player Patrick Cummins is not one of those players, due to his ongoing recovery from a back injury.

“The new players coming in provide the YSP and coach David Fitzgerald a great opportunity to give international experience to a wide range of talented youngsters with the ultimate focus being the ICC Youth World Cup in Australia in 2012.

“Cameron Bancroft and James Peirson starred in the matches in April and since then both have been away with the AIS team to Chennai, India.

“Our view is their games have continued to improve and these matches give them an opportunity to show off their skills.

“Fast bowler Dom McGlinchey from Geelong, is a new member of the under 19 squad and impressed us on recent state visits to Victoria, which were attended by Australian bowling coach Craig McDermott.

“Dom also attended the Kerry Packer scholarship camp at the COE earlier this year,” Mr Chappell added.

The tour of India will start on 22 September, however exact match dates and venues are yet to be confirmed.

Australia Under-19 squad for the tour to India

  • Cameron Bancroft
  • Sebastian Gotch
  • Kurtis Patterson
  • Nicholas Stevens
  • James Peirson
  • Travis Head
  • Joel Paris
  • Alex Pyecroft
  • Corey Ogle
  • Dominic McGlinchey
  • Brad Chard
  • Ashton Turner
  • Shane Cassell
  • William Bosisto

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *