Australia win toss, elect to bat against Sri Lanka

Australia captain Michael Clarke won the toss and chose to bat against Sri Lanka in the first final of the CB Series 2012 at the Gabba in Brisbane on Sunday.

Brett Lee

Peter Forrest, Australia’s only centurion of the series, drops out of the side at the expense of returning skipper, while Brett Lee is preferred to Clint McKay.

The Australians will again open with Matthew Wade and David Warner, with Shane Watson batting at No.3.

The Sri Lankans, who beat India in a thrilling encounter at the MCG, made three changes including two due to injury.

Angelo Matthews and Thissara Perera were ruled out through injury, while Offspinner Sachithra Senanayake was left out.

Farveez Maharoof, Dhammika Prasad and Upul Tharanga were included in the playing eleven in place of Mathews, Perera and Senanayake.

The second final in the best of three series will be held on Tuesday in Adelaide, which will also host the third final on Thursday if it is needed.

Australia: Michael Clarke (capt), David Warner, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Daniel Christian, Brett Lee, James Pattinson, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillekeratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Upul Tharanga, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *