Australia win toss, choose to bat against Sri Lanka‎

Australia’s stand-in captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and chose to bat first in Friday’s one-day international against Sri Lanka at the SCG.

Australia have made two changes with Michael Clarke out with a hamstring injury and Ryan Harris rested.

Michael Hussey, who was rested for Australia’s last match against India in Adelaide, replaces Clarke while Brett Lee returns from a broken toe to take Harris’s spot.

Spinner Xavier Doherty will play despite suffering back spasms in training on Thursday.

Sri Lanka have also made two changes with Upul Tharanga and Sachithra Senanayake out of the team while Lahiru Thirimanne and Farveez Maharoof come in.

Australia: David Warner, Matthew Wade, Ricky Ponting (capt), Peter Forrest, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Dan Christian, Clint McKay, Brett Lee, Mitchell Starc, Xavier Doherty.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *