Australia wins toss, elects to field against Sri Lanka

Australia captain Cameron White has won the toss and sent Sri Lanka in to bat in the first Twenty20 match at Pallekele International Stadium.

The Australians left out Aaron Finch and James Pattinson from their squad of 13, while the Sri Lankans handed a first cap to Dilruwan Perera, who according to Tillakaratne Dilshan is the best bowler in domestic t20 cricket.

Mahela Jayawardene and Dilshan will open the batting, while the vice-captain Angelo Mathews is expected to take part primarily as a batsman as he is still recovering from injury.

Sri Lanka will be without Lasith Malinga for the two matches but Dilshan said he wanted his younger players to take the opportunity to perform for the side.

Australia and Sri Lanka have so far played four Twenty20 matches, with each team winning two.

Sri Lanka squad: TM Dilshan (capt), AD Mathews, LD Chandimal, RMS Eranga, HMRKB Herath, DPMD Jayawardene, S Randiv, KMDN Kulasekara, RAS Lakmal, BAW Mendis, BMAJ Mendis, MDK Perera, NLTC Perera, KTGD Prasad, KC Sangakkara, LPC Silva

Australia squad: CL White (capt), AJ Finch, BJ Haddin, JW Hastings, DJ Hussey, MG Johnson, B Lee, SE Marsh, SNJ O’Keefe, JL Pattinson, SPD Smith, DA Warner, SR Watson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *