Australia Women squad for India tour

Selectors have announced a 14-player squad for Australia’s women’s cricket tour of India next month.

Australia have retained the same squad that played in the recent Women’s International Series that concluded last week against New Zealand.

Australia won that T20 series 4-1 and retaining the Rose Bowl Trophy 1-0.

“Following the recent success of the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars against New Zealand, the WNSP has chosen the same squad to contest the series against India in March, said WNSP Chair Julie Savage.

“Winning the Rose Bowl 1-0 and the T20 series 4-1 was a good result with excellent performances from experienced all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar who was the T20 player of the series.

“Equally outstanding was the performance of swing bowler Julie Hunter, in both formats, which culminated in her being awarded player of the Rose Bowl Series.

“The contributions from our players with significant experience and the confident performances from players who have played less international matches bode well for our squad ahead of the tour to India.

“The performance of the entire squad during the series was generally pleasing although the WNSP would expect to see some improved consistency particularly amongst the batting group during the Indian series as we continue to prepare for the defense of the ICC World Twenty20 title in September.

“India on their own turf should represent a significant challenge and we believe this squad displays the balance of skills and experience required to continue our recent series success.”

The tour to India will be from 6-26 March 2012, while exact match dates and venues are yet to be finalised.

Squad: Jodie Fields (capt), Alex Blackwell, Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jessica Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Sharon Millanta, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Leah Poulton, Lisa Sthalekar.

One thought on “Australia Women squad for India tour

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *