Brendan Taylor Named Zimbabwe Captain

Brendan Taylor has been named as the new captain of Zimbabwe’s national cricket team. He has taken over from all-rounder Elton Chigumbura who captained Zimbabwe during the World Cup 2011.

Taylor will start his duties as captain against Australian and South African A sides at home, with the first game against Australia A at Harare Sports Club on June 29.

“We have watched Taylor develop into a mature, experienced player and we stand fully behind him in his new role,” said ZC managing director, Ozias Bvute.

The national selectors have also announced the Zimbabwe XI squad for the one-day matches against the Australia and South Africa A sides.

Zimbabwe XI: Brendan Taylor (capt), Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Craig Ervine, Hamilton Masakadza, Keegan Meth, Christopher Mpofu, Forster Mutizwa, Raymond Price, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller.

After the final match of the one-day triangular series, the Zimbabwe XI will host Australia A in a two-day warm-up match at Kwekwe Sports Club, beginning on the 11th of July. Vusimuzi Sibanda will captain the team.

Zimbabwe XI two-day warm-up squad: Vusimuzi Sibanda (capt), Regis Chakabva, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Kyle Jarvis, Gregory Lamb, Shingirai Masakadza, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Natsai Mushangwe, Forster Mutizwa, Njabulo Ncube, Tinashe Panyangara, Malcolm Waller.

After the warm-up match, the Zimbabwe will play Australia A in two four-day matches in Harare, beginning on the 15th and the 21st of July, 2011. Zimbabwe squad for these matches will be announced later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *