Brisbane Heat name squad for Hobart Hurricanes

The Brisbane Heat have named squad for tomorrow night’s opening T20 Big Bash League clash with the Hobart Hurricanes at the Gabba.

Heat have included Shane Watson, Luke Pomersbach, Ben Cutting, Joe Burns, Cameron Gannon, Chris Sabburg and Thisara Perera in his 13-man squad.

Perera, who arrived yesterday from Sri Lanka, trained this morning with the Heat for the first time while 22-year-old Toombul club cricketer Sabburg is poised to complete a rags-to-riches tale if he plays tomorrow night after being the 18th player contracted less than a week ago.

Cutting, who was ruled out on the eve of the tournament last year, and youngsters Gannon and Burns, who were squad members without playing in BBL|01, join former Australian T20 International rep Pomersbach as the other potential first gamers.

Watson will play his first game for the Heat since switching from the champion Sydney Sixers during the off-season.

Squad: Alister McDermott, Nathan Hauritz, Dan Christian, Ben Cutting, Luke Pomersbach, Joe Burns, James Hopes, Chris Hartley, Shane Watson, Peter Forrest, Cameron Gannon, Chris Sabburg, Thisara Perera

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *