Canada name preliminary squad for World T20

Cricket Canada has announced 18 man squad for the 2012 T20 Cricket World Cup Qualification Tournament to be held in Dubai from March 13th – 24th in the United Arab Emirates.

Jimmy Hansra has been named the captain and Rizwan Cheema the vice-captain in Canada’s 18-man preliminary squad.

Batsman Zubin Surkari, who scored 5, 19 and 2 in the Caribbean T20 in mid-January, was left out of the squad.

The only other player to miss out from the squad that played in the Caribbean T20 is left-arm spinner Salman Nazar.

Canada are placed in Group A, alongside Afghanistan, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong, Bermuda, Denmark and Nepal.

The final 14-man squad will be named on February 13.

Squad: Jimmy Hansra (capt), Rizwan Cheema (vice-capt), Manny Aulakh, Harvir Baidwan, Rustam Bhatti, Khurram Chohan, Parth Desai, Jeremy Gordon, Tyson Gordon, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Zahid Hussain, Nitish Kumar, Usman Limbada, Henry Osinde, Hiral Patel, Raza-ur-Rehman, Junaid Siddiqui, Hamza Tariq.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *