Chris Gayle recalled to West Indies ODI squad to face England

Former captain Chris Gayle has been chosen by West Indies for the first time in 14 months as part of its one-day squad to tour England later this month.

Gayle has returned to the squad after his dispute with the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB).

Chairman of the Selection Panel, Clyde Butts welcomed the return of Gayle to the ODI squad.

“Chris is a player of proven quality and we are looking forward to him adding this dimension to the side and his contributions as a senior member of the squad,” said Butts.

Gayle joins a squad captained by Test skipper Darren Sammy who has Dwayne Bravo as his vice-captain.

Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Dwayne Smith are also named in the squad.

Spinner Sunil Narine, who made a major impression during the recent Indian Premier League, has also been selected.

Opener Lendl Simmons is chosen again after recovering from a finger injury that ruled him out of the home series against Australia in March.

Openers Adrian Barath and Kieron Powell, who have struggled in the first two matches in the series in England, have been left out.

Test wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin comes in to replace Carlton Baugh.

“We are now beginning to move into the next phase of the development of the team as we continue to build our ODI side as we continue to plan for the 2015 World Cup,” said the Chairman of the Selection Panel.

“A number of players who we have been exposed to international cricket and who, by their recent performances, have shown that they can play roles in the team have been retained.”

“There is, what we believe, is a balanced combination of young rising players like Sunil Narine in the bowling department and Johnson Charles in the top order of the batting in addition to the well known seasoned internationals.

Squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo (vice captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

Coach: Ottis Gibson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *