Delhi Daredevils (DD) Squad For CLT20 2012

Mahela Jayawardene will lead the Delhi Daredevils in the Karbonn Mobile Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2012, beginning on October 9 in South Africa.

Virender Sehwag, who led the team in four of the five IPL seasons, sought to be relieved of captaincy.

GMR Sports Head (Cricket) and Delhi Daredevils Team Mentor TA Sekar said, “Viru told us a few months ago that he wanted to bat freely and suggested that we make Mahela the captain of the side.”

Jayawardene has led the Kings XI Punjab and the now-defunct Kochi Tuskers Kerala in the IPL before. He also led the Daredevils in IPL 2012 in the games that Sehwag sat out.

The Delhi Daredevils squad includes six overseas cricketers – Jayawardene, David Warner, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Morne Morkel and Andre Russell.

This will be a second CLT20 appearance for the Daredevils after they qualified for the inaugural season of the tournament.

Delhi Daredevils Squad for Champions League T20 2012

Mahela Jayawardene (captain), David Warner, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor,  Morne Morkel, Andre Russell, Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Venugopal Rao, Pawan Negi, Naman Ojha (wicket-keeper), Ajit Agarkar, Unmukt Chand and Aavishkar Salvi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *