Delhi Daredevils elect to bowl against Kolkata Knight Riders

Delhi Daredevils won the toss and elected to field against Kolkata Knight Riders in the second match of the fifth edition of the Indian Premier League at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Thursday.



A mild thunderstorm, coupled with heavy showers, had delayed the start of the match.

The match has now been reduced to 12 overs a side.

Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag said, “Rain is always frustrating but we have to accept that, we are ready. I wish all (KP, Mahela, Warner) were available but they are not there today. We’ll do our best and hope for the result to come in our favour.

“Shorter game, so we’ll bowl first. We want to restrict them to under 8 runs per over. Good opportunity for other players to get a game and perform.”

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir said, “Excited about the new season and looking forward to it.

“We were more or less sure about our eleven so the rain doesn’t change that. 12 over game, we’ll look to put runs on the board and take it from there.

“T20 is always about excitement and it’s going to be even more entertaining today as it is a 12 over match.”

Delhi Daredevils (Playing XI): Virender Sehwag(c), Naman Ojha(w), Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Venugopal Rao, Irfan Pathan, Yogesh Nagar, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne Morkel, Shahbaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav.

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Gautam Gambhir(c), Jacques Kallis, Brendon McCullum(w), Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Rajat Bhatia, Debabrata Das, Laxmi Shukla, Brett Lee, Marchant de Lange, Iqbal Abdulla.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *