Deshmukh defeats Vengsarkar to become new MCA president

Mumbai Cricket Association will be headed by Union Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh who defeated former India skipper Dilip Vengsarkar. Deshmukh’s margin of victory was 47 votes; he received 182 to Vengsarkar’s 135.

Deshmukh said that he would use the experience of Vengsarkar, who is part of the MCA’s cricket improvement committee.

“We will try to use him [Vengsarkar] in the best possible manner. He is an asset to the association,” he said.

“He is a very senior cricketer. With his help we can develop more cricketers for Mumbai.”

Deshmukh had the backing of Sharad Pawar after the Union Agriculture Minister became ineligible to contest the polls as per a clause in the MCA’s constitution following a change of his permanent residence status from Mumbai to Baramati.

Prof Ratnakar Shetty and Ravi Savant were elected as vice-president and treasurer respectively while D Y Patil Sports Academy’s chairman Vijay Patil became the other vice-president.

Dr P V Shetty and Nitin Dalal have become the two new joint secretaries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *