Dilshan named captain for Australia series

Tillakaratne Dilshan has been retained captain of Sri Lankan cricket team for its home series against Australia next month.

Dilshan, who was Sri Lanka captain in the Test and ODI series in England from May 26 to July 9, will lead in the three Tests, five ODIs and two Twenty20 games against Australia.

Thilina Kandamby, who was the ODI vice-captain in England, was not named in the squad. Dilhara Fernando, who picked up an injury in the third Test against England at the Rose Bowl, also misses out.

Offspinner Sachithra Senanayake is the only uncapped player included in the squad.

Squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Jeevan Mendis, Chamara Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekera, Isuru Udana, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Malinga Bandara and Sachithra Senanayake.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *