England name squad for first Test against India

The England selectors have named a 12-man squad for the first npower Test match against India at Lord’s, which starts from Thursday July 21.

England selectors have included Yorkshire paceman Tim Bresnan in place of Middlesex’s Steven Finn.

Tim Bresnan  returns to the England Test squad for the first time since the 5th Ashes Test in Sydney in January.

England have made only one change to their squad that won the recent npower Test series against Sri Lanka 1-0.

England National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: “This is clearly a highly-anticipated series between two of the world’s top Test playing nations and I know the England team is certainly looking forward to the challenge of taking on the number one ranked team in Test cricket.

“Following the successful Test and ODI series against Sri Lanka we’re pleased to be able to include Tim Bresnan in the Test squad after his excellent return from a calf muscle injury. Tim adds further bite to our pace attack along with James Anderson, Chris Tremlett and Stuart Broad who has greatly benefitted from getting overs and wickets under his belt for Nottinghamshire during the week.

“Steven Finn has also benefitted from his time at county level in recent weeks and continues to press hard for Test selection. It’s very pleasing to see the depth of quality around our bowling attack particularly with a challenging four-match Test series on the horizon.”

England squad – 1st npower Test

  • Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) (Captain)
  • James Anderson (Lancashire)
  • Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
  • Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
  • Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
  • Alastair Cook (Essex)
  • Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
  • Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
  • Matt Prior (Sussex)
  • Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
  • Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
  • Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *