England Team For 3rd Test Against Sri Lanka

England Cricket Board, ECB has announced the squad for the third npower Test agsint Sri Lanka at the Rose Bowl starting on Thursday.

James Anderson, who missed the second Test against Sri Lanka due to a side strain, has been named in England’s squad. Anderson replaces Jade Dernbach.

England national selector Geoff Miller said:

“Jimmy Anderson is the leader of our bowling attack so clearly he will be a significant inclusion should he get through Lancashire’s Friends Life t20 match against Worcestershire unscathed.

“Side strains can be particularly troublesome for bowlers but, given Jimmy’s injury was a grade one strain and therefore a low grade injury, he is expected to be fit for selection.

“A period of rest and recovery has certainly been beneficial and we obviously wouldn’t include Jimmy in the squad if the medical staff weren’t confident of his fitness.”

England Team For 3rd npower Test

  1. Andrew Strauss (Middlesex, captain)
  2. James Anderson (Lancashire)
  3. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
  4. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
  5. Alastair Cook (Essex)
  6. Steven Finn (Middlesex)
  7. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
  8. Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
  9. Matt Prior (Sussex)
  10. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
  11. Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
  12. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *