England women’s squad for New Zealand series

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has named a 15-player squad for England women’s tour of New Zealand in February 2012.

Seamer Anya Shrubsole is added to the squad while batter Beth Morgan, who replaced Katherine Brunt in South Africa, keeps her place after recovering from shoulder surgery.

Holly Colvin remains unavailable for selection due to university commitments whilst Katherine Brunt will be rested and remain in England, giving young seam bowlers Georgia Elwiss and Anya Shrubsole an opportunity to impress.

England will play a five match Twenty20 series and three One Day Internationals against New Zealand women. The first three Twenty20 matches will be televised on Sky Sports.

ECB Head of England Women’s Cricket Clare Connor said, “The England women’s team has had an exceptional 2011 and their dominance continued during their recent, unbeaten tour to South Africa. It was especially pleasing to see younger players taking their opportunities and senior players contributing with match-winning performances.”

“The next eighteen months provides an exciting schedule for international women’s cricket with the ICC World Twenty20 in September 2012 and the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2013.

“After their month tour of New Zealand the squad will start preparations for two NatWest series against India and a later NatWest T20 series against the West Indies in September, all ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 which takes place alongside the men’s event in Sri Lanka.

“The upcoming tour to New Zealand will provide both formats of limited overs cricket and give the players every opportunity to impress and retain their place for the upcoming ICC global events. I wish the entire tour party every success.”

England squad

  • Charlotte Edwards (Kent, capt)
  • Jenny Gunn (Yorkshire)
  • Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
  • Arran Brindle (Sussex)
  • Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
  • Lydia Greenway (Kent)
  • Isa Guha (Berkshire)
  • Danni Hazell (Yorkshire)
  • Heather Knight (Berkshire)
  • Laura Marsh (Kent)
  • Beth Morgan (Middlesex)
  • Susie Rowe (Kent)
  • Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
  • Sarah Taylor (Sussex, wk)
  • Danni Wyatt (Staffordshire).


  • Friday 17 February, 1st T20 Westpac Stadium, Wellington (before New Zealand men v South Africa)
  • Sunday 19 February, 2nd T20 Seddon Park, Hamilton (before New Zealand men v South Africa)
  • Wednesday 2 February, 3rd T20 Eden Park, Auckland (before New Zealand men v South Africa)
  • Saturday 25 February, 4th T20 Queens Park, Invercargill
  • Sunday 26 February, 5th T20 Queens Park, Invercargill
  • Thursday 1 March, 1st ODI Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln University
  • Saturday 3 March, 2nd ODI Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln University
  • Monday 5 March, 3rd ODI Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *