Fans to decide LG People’s Choice Award

The second LG People’s Choice Awards  will allow cricket fans to vote for international stars who have produced outstanding performances in the past year.

Those nominated include South Africa batsman Hashim Amla, India’s ICC Cricket World Cup winning skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Chris Gayle from the West Indies, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara and England’s Jonathan Trott

For the second time in the history of the LG ICC Awards, fans will have the  opportunity to decide the winner, voting via Voting will be open until 11am GMT on 25 August with the winner will be announced on 12 September at the LG ICC Awards in London.

The short list, nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, along with Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas, England’s Mike Gatting, South Africa’s Paul Adams and  New Zealand’s Danny Morrison,  was selected using criteria set out by LG and the ICC.

ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said: “The inaugural LG People’s ICC Awards, which was won by Sachin Tendulkar, proved hugely popular among fans across the globe and showed us just how much voting for their cricketing heroes meant.

“The LG ICC Awards is now a prestigious event in the cricketing calendar and we are delighted that fans will again be able to have their say on who should win one of the awards in 2011.”

Fans voting on the awards are in with a chance of winning some fantastic prizes from LG.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *