George Dockrell to captain Ireland in U-19 World Cup qualifiers ‎

Somerset left arm spinner George Dockrell will captain the Ireland squad in the Under 19 World Cup Qualifying tournament, which will be held in Ireland in July, 2011

Manager Brian Walsh is confident that the side has the capability of retaining the trophy they won in Canada in 2009.

He said: “We are very happy with the composition of the squad. Under the leadership of George Dockrell we have a good balance of experienced and new young players.

“We have a number of boys who will be making their debut in the World Cup (Qualifiers) who we are confident will go on to achieve full honours. Already George Dockrell is established in the senior team and Graeme McCarter was in the senior squad for the matches against Namibia.

“Adam Coughlan, Jason van der Merwe and Scott Campbell are members of the Ireland Development squad, and Andrew McBrine is an exciting young talent from whom we are expecting great things.

“We have included Shane Getkate in our squad to give him every chance to play if he recovers from his recent illness. Shane is a great prospect and will be playing in his third World Cup.”

The first phase of the competition takes place in the Dublin region with each side playing four games, before moving to the North West area, where Ireland will play five times.

Ireland: George Dockrell (captain) (Somerset), Ross Adair (Holywood), Adam Berry (Lisburn), Scott Campbell (Coleraine), Adam Coughlan (North County), Shane Getake (North County), Niall Hodgins (Civil Service North), Ryan Hunter (Donemana), Hugh MacDonnell (Leinster), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Fox Lodge), Barry McCarthy (Pembroke), Sam Shannon (Instonians), Jason van der Merwe (Muckamore).

Schedule of 2011 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup Qualifier

All games begin at 1045 local time

  • 26 July – Scheduled team arrivals
  • 27 July – Practice
  • 28 July: Kenya v Vanuatu (Merrion), Namibia v PNG (The Hills), Scotland v Canada (North County), Afghanistan v Nepal (Leinster), Ireland v USA (Clontarf)
  • 29 July: Ireland v Afghanistan (North County), Nepal v Scotland (Merrion), Canada v Kenya (The Hills), Vanuatu v Namibia (YMCA), PNG v USA (Leinster)
  • 30 July: Rest/Reserve Day
  • 31 July: USA v Namibia (North County), Vanuatu v Canada (Merrion), Kenya v Nepal (Railway Union), Ireland v Scotland (The Hills), Afghanistan v PNG (Leinster)
  • 1 August: Nepal v Vanuatu (YMCA), Namibia v Canada (North County), USA v Afghanistan (The Hills), PNG v Scotland (Oakhill), Ireland v Kenya (Leinster)
  • 2 August: Travel Day
  • 3 August: Ireland v Vanuatu (Coleraine), Canada v Nepal (Bready), Namibia v Afghanistan (Limavady), Kenya v PNG (Strabane), Scotland v USA (Eglinton)
  • 4 August: Rest/Reserve Day
  • 5 August: Afghanistan v Scotland (Strabane), Kenya v USA (Bready), PNG v Vanuatu (Bready 2), Ireland v Canada (Limavady), Nepal v Namibia (Drummond)
  • 6 August: Canada v ONG (Eglinton), Vanuatu v USA (Drummond), Ireland v Nepal (Bready), Scotland v Namibia (Bready 2), Kenya v Afghanistan (Limavady)
  • 7 August: Scotland v Kenya (Eglinton), PNG v Nepal (Coleraine), USA v Canada (Bready 2), Afghanistan v Vanuatu (Bready), Ireland v Namibia (Strabane)
  • 8 August: Rest/Reserve Day
  • 9 August: Namibia v Kenya (Drummond), Ireland v PNG (Eglinton), Vanuatu v Scotland (Coleraine), Nepal v USA (Limavady), Canada v Afghanistan (Strabane)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *