ICC Annual Conference week begins in Kuala Lumpur

The ICC Annual Conference week begins today (Sunday) with the Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) meeting at the Shangri-La Hotel in Kuala Lumpur and ends on 28 June 2012 with the inauguration of the eighth ICC President, Alan Isaac, at the Annual Conference.

Mr Isaac will take over as ICC President from Sharad Pawar, who completes his two-year term at the end of the week.

The ICC Council, at its meeting on 28 June 2012, will be asked to approve amendments to the ICC Articles which will create the post of Chairman from June 2014 with the President’s role being ambassadorial from that date onwards.

The Council will also be required to confirm the appointment of David Richardson as successor to Haroon Lorgat as the ICC Chief Executive.

The ICC Associate and Affiliate Members meeting on 25 June 2012 will elect their three representatives to serve two-year terms on the ICC Board.

On the agenda of the CEC meeting are recommendations from the ICC Cricket Committee which include the reaffirmation of the universal application of the Decision Review System (DRS), minor enhancements to the 50-over format and, importantly, discussions on the protection and promotion of international cricket within a changed landscape that is showing a growing number of domestic professional T20 leagues.

The ICC Board, which will meet on 26 and 27 June, will receive various reports and recommendations emanating from Board sub-committees and the CEC. Among these will be the annual report from the Chairman of ACSU, membership issues including applications for ICC Affiliate Membership from Russia and Hungary.

The Board will also continue its discussions, which have been ongoing since the last meeting among the directors and Members, on the Woolf report and further consider the strategies being developed to protect and promote all three formats of the game at international level.

The ICC Board consists of the chairman or president from each of the 10 Full Members plus three elected Associate Member representatives. Also present at ICC Board meetings is the ICC President, who chairs proceedings, the ICC Chief Executive and the ICC Vice-President, as well as, by invitation of the President, the ICC Principal Advisor.

Sharad Pawar ICC President
Alan Isaac ICC Vice-President
Haroon Lorgat ICC Chief Executive
Zaka Ashraf Pakistan
Dr Willie Basson South Africa
Peter Chingoka Zimbabwe
Giles Clarke England and Wales
Wally Edwards Australia
Dr Julian Hunte West Indies
Mustafa Kamal Bangladesh
Imran Khwaja Associate Member Representative
Upali Dharmadasa Sri Lanka
Chris Moller New Zealand
Keith Oliver Associate Member Representative
Neil Speight Associate Member Representative
Narayanaswami Srinivasan India

The CEC comprises the Chief Executives of the 10 Full Member nations as well as three Associate Member representatives. Also present is the ICC Chief Executive who chairs the meeting and, by invitation, the ICC President and the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

Haroon Lorgat ICC Chief Executive (Chairman)
Sharad Pawar ICC President (ex Officio)
Clive Lloyd ICC Cricket Committee Chairman (ex Officio)
Subhan Ahmed Pakistan
Nizam Uddin Chowdhury Bangladesh
David Collier England and Wales
John Cribbin Associate Member Representative
Warren Deutrom Associate Member Representative
Francois Erasmus Associate Member Representative
Dr Ernest Hilaire West Indies
Sanjay Jagdale India
Jacques Faul South Africa
Wilfred Mukondiwa Zimbabwe
Nishantha Ranatunga Sri Lanka
James Sutherland Australia
David White New Zealand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *