ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Team of the Tournament

Finalists India and Sri Lanka contribute a total of seven players to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 team of the tournament, which was announced today in Mumbai.

In all, there are four players from beaten finalist Sri Lanka and three from champion India while South Africa, Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand are also represented in the 12-man squad. The captain of the side was named as Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

The team was chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side for sub-continental conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament –

  • David Richardson (ICC General Manager – Cricket and former South Africa wicketkeeper)
  • Anand Vasu (Deputy Editor of Sports Illustrated)
  • Aleem Dar (Member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and Umpire of the Year 2009 and 2010)
  • Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee and former Sri Lanka captain)
  • Christopher Martin-Jenkins (journalist and broadcaster)

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Team of the Tournament

  • Sachin Tendulkar (India)
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, WK and captain)
  • Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka)
  • AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  • Yuvraj Singh (India)
  • Shane Watson (Australia)
  • Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
  • Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  • Zaheer Khan (India)
  • Muttiah Muralidaran (Sri Lanka)
  • 12th man: Tim Southee (New Zealand)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *