ICC Cricketer of the Year 2011 – Jonathan Trott

England’s Jonathan Trott has been named ICC Cricketer of the Year 2011 at the LG ICC Awards.

Jonathan Trott scored 1,042 runs in 12 Tests at an average of 65.12, including four centuries and three half-centuries. In 24 ODIs, he compiled 1,064 runs at an average of 48.36 with two centuries and nine 50s.

Trott  won the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2011 by beating England team-mate Alastair Cook, last year’s winner Sachin Tendulkar and South Africa opening batsman Hashim Amla.

Trott accepted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy from ICC President Sharad Pawar at a glittering ceremony in London.

He said,  “It’s fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award and it’s a brilliant feeling to be recognised.”

Trott follows in the footsteps of India’s Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff of England and South Africa’s Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting of Australia (2006 and 2007), West Indies’ Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson of Australia (2009) and India’s Sachin Tendulkar (2010) to take the top award.

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year 2011

  • Hashim Amla (South Africa )
  • Alastair Cook ( England )
  • Sachin Tendulkar (India)
  • Jonathan Trott (England) – Winner

One thought on “ICC Cricketer of the Year 2011 – Jonathan Trott

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *