ICC Meets For Annual Conference In Hong Kong

The ICC Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC, 26 and 27 June), ICC Executive Board (28 and 29 June) and Full Council (30 June) will meet in Hong Kong next week to discuss a number of topics which are important to the future of the game.

ICC Cricket Committee recommendations

The CEC will consider recommendations from the ICC Cricket Committee which cover a wide range of important cricket topics including day/night Test matches, over-rates, pitches, the Decision Review System (DRS), use of runners as well as plans to enhance One-Day Internationals further.

While acknowledging the broadcast contracts that currently exist, the ICC Cricket Committee was unanimous in its recommendation that DRS should be used in all Test matches and also unanimously recommended that DRS should be used in ODI and T20I series with each side allowed one unsuccessful review per innings. The suggestions were made following detailed technical analysis and supported by what the committee agreed was a successful application during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

The ICC Cricket Committee also proposed that the study into day/night Test matches should continue and that current code of conduct regulations be amended to allow for the suspension of a captain after two offences for slow over-rate breaches (previously it was three).

The CEC will also consider the recommendations for 50-over ODI cricket which builds on the extremely successful ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. In order to improve the balance between bat and ball and to give 50-over cricket a distinct identity, the ICC Cricket Committee recommended that two balls should be used in each innings ? one from each end. Currently the ball is replaced after 34 overs. It also recommended that teams should only be allowed to take the batting and bowling powerplays between overs 16 and 40.

The committee also suggested that trials of the following playing conditions be conducted in domestic cricket before being considered for international cricket:

  • Removal of the restriction on the maximum number of overs each bowler could deliver
  • No compulsory close-catchers
  • A maximum of four fielders outside the 30-yard fielding circle during non-powerplay overs
  • The number of bouncers that can be delivered per over to be increased from one to two.

The CEC will consider these topics and, following further deliberations of the CEC working group, will also seek to confirm and recommend the Future Tours Programme to the ICC Executive Board for its consideration.

Format and make-up of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

At its meeting in Mumbai on 4 April 2011, after having previously agreed a 10-team ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, the ICC Executive Board agreed that the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 would comprise of the 10 ICC Full Members. The Board also confirmed its decision taken in October 2010 that the ICC World Twenty20 should be a 16-team event and that promotion and relegation would be introduced from 2019.

These decisions were part of the package of strategic restructuring of bilateral cricket and ICC events aimed at providing greater context and content for international cricket. As part of this, a Test play-off for the top four teams was also approved to take place in England in 2013.

Following the decisions and responding to representations from various quarters, ICC President Sharad Pawar will ask the ICC Executive Board to revisit its decision to restrict the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 to the 10 Full Members.

Constitutional amendments

The Full Council of the ICC will consider a constitutional amendment aimed at ensuring free elections of Member boards and avoiding undue government interference in the administration of cricket, in line with the regulations of other major sporting bodies.

The Full Council will also consider a further constitutional change to the process for the nomination and election of the ICC President. Under the new proposal, the Executive Board will decide the process and term of office from time to time, subject to certain qualifying criteria. This would remove the current rotational system of nomination and the fixed term of appointment as set out in the ICC Articles of Association.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

The ICC Executive Board and CEC will receive a detailed post-event report on the successful staging of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka. Although the event was universally regarded as a success and one of the best cricket events in history, the report will highlight shortcomings around ticketing and stadia construction.

The report also acknowledges the high standard of cricket and praises the excellent pitches and outfields. It also notes that the three host countries now have a legacy of excellent cricket facilities following the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

Other matters

The ICC Executive Board will also consider recommendations from the CEC, the ICC Security Task Force on introducing mandatory safety and security regulations and a final report from the Pakistan Task Team.

The ICC Board consists of the chairman or president from each of the 10 Full Members plus three elected Associate Member representatives. Also present at ICC Board meetings is the ICC President, who chairs proceedings, the ICC Chief Executive and the ICC Vice-President, as well as, by invitation of the President, the ICC Principal Advisor.

  • Sharad Pawar, ICC President
  • Alan Isaac, ICC Vice-President
  • Haroon Lorgat, ICC Chief Executive
  • Ijaz Butt, Pakistan
  • Peter Chingoka, Zimbabwe
  • Giles Clarke, England and Wales
  • Jack Clarke, Australia
  • Dr Julian Hunte, West Indies
  • Mustafa Kamal, Bangladesh
  • Imran Khwaja, Associate Member Representative
  • Shashank Manohar, India
  • Chris Moller, New Zealand
  • Dr M Nyoka, South Africa
  • Keith Oliver, Associate Member Representative
  • DS de Silva, Sri Lanka
  • Neil Speight Associate Member Representative

The CEC comprises the Chief Executives of the 10 Full Member nations as well as three Associate Member representatives. Also present is the ICC Chief Executive who chairs the meeting and, by invitation, the ICC President and the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

  • Haroon Lorgat ICC Chief Executive (Chairman)
  • Sharad Pawar, ICC President (ex Officio)
  • Clive Lloyd, ICC Cricket Committee Chairman (ex Officio)
  • Mansur Ahmed, Bangladesh
  • Subhan Ahmed, Pakistan
  • Michael Brown, Australia (alternate for James Sutherland)
  • David Collier, England and Wales
  • John Cribbin, Associate Member Representative
  • Warren Deutrom, Associate Member Representative
  • Francois Erasmus, Associate Member Representative
  • Dr Ernest Hilaire, West Indies
  • Gerald Majola, South Africa
  • Wilfred Mukondiwa, Zimbabwe (alternate for Ozias Bvute)
  • Nishantha Ranatunga, Sri Lanka
  • N Srinivasan, India
  • Dr Justin Vaughan, New Zealand

Annual ConferenceFull Council comprises 10 Full Members, 35 Associates and five Affiliate representatives. For a special resolution to change the ICC Constitution the requirement is for the support of eight Full Members and 38 out of 50 of the entire Full Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *