ICC ODI Team of the Year announced

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced its ODI Team of the Year which was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian captain Clive Lloyd.

There are four Indians in the side – Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who was named captain, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, who won the the Man-of-the-Series award in the cricket World Cup, and pace spearhead Zaheer Khan.

Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said, “This has been an outstanding year for 50-over cricket. I think everyone saw in the ICC Cricket World Cup how exciting this format can be.

“The ICC Cricket World Cup was rightly applauded as one of the greatest in history and no one who was in Mumbai will forget that remarkable evening.

“The ODI team of the year reflects the success of India with four players selected – Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, M S Dhoni and Zaheer Khan. Yuvraj was, of course, the player of the tournament and MS Dhoni, the man of the match in the final, whilst fellow finalists Sri Lanka has three players in the side.”

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, former England captain Mike Gatting, former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South African bowler Paul Adams.

The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up which was announced last month.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)

  1. Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
  2. Virender Sehwag (Ind)
  3. Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
  4. AB de Villiers (SA)
  5. Shane Watson (Aus)
  6. Yuvraj Singh (Ind)
  7. MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain)
  8. Graeme Swann (Eng)
  9. Umar Gul (Pak)
  10. Dale Steyn (SA)
  11. Zaheer Khan (Ind)
  12. 12th Man – Lasith Malinga (SL)

One thought on “ICC ODI Team of the Year announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *