India bat first against Northamptonshire in warm-up game

Stand-in captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss and elected to bat against Northamptonshire in the practice match at County Ground, Northampton on Friday.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is in the playing team but is not leading the side.

Reserve keeper Wriddhiman Saha has been included into the playing team.

Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan are in the playing team as to be match fit ahead of the third Test at Edgbaston that starts on August 10.

Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Praveen Kumar have been rested for this match.

Seamer Munaf Patel has also been included in the side for the practice match while Ishant Sharma has been left out.

Indians: Gautam Gambhir (capt), Virender Sehwag, Abhinav Mukund, mahendra Singh Dhoni, vvS Laxman, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Sreesanth, Zaheer Khan, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel and Ishant Sharma.

Northamptonshire: MB Loye, NJ O`Brien, RA White, RI Newton, DJG Sales, Dj Willey, D Murphy, PM Best, D Burton, LM Daggett, L Evans and T Brett.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *