India T20, ODI team for England announced

The Indian cricket team for the solitary Twenty20 international and the five-match ODI series against England was selected on Saturday.

Rahul Dravid has made a surprise comeback while Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh do not feature in the limited overs squad.

Yuvraj Singh, who fractured his left index finger on the fourth day at Trent Bridge while facing up to a bouncer from Tim Bresnan, has not been considered for the limited overs series.

Off spinner R Ashwin as expected was picked ahead of Harbhajan Singh, who suffered Grade I Abdominal Muscle strain during the second Test leading to his being ruled out of the remaining two games.

Amit Mishra, who is expected to play in the third Test, will be the second spinner in the team.

In the pace department, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma and Vinay Kumar have been selected.

Parthiv Patel, who opened the batting and kept wicket in MS Dhoni’s absence in the West Indies, also retains his place as the second-choice limited-overs wicketkeeper.

Shikhar Dhawan and S Badrinath, who toured West Indies in the absence of the regular batsmen, have been left out.

The solitary Twenty20 match would be held on August 31 at Old Trafford, Manchester followed by the ODI series commencing at Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street on September 3.

The fifth and the final ODI will be held on September 16 at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.

Squad: MS Dhoni(c/w), V Sehwag(vc), Gautam Gmbhir, Rahul Dravid, Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Zaheer Khan, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Amit Mishra.

4 thoughts on “India T20, ODI team for England announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *