Australia win toss and bat against India

Australia won the toss and chose to bat in the opening Test against India at the Adelaide Oval on Tuesday.

Michael Clarke was passed fit to lead Australia after recurring hamstring problems, while paceman Josh Hazlewood and batsman Shaun Marsh were left out of the starting XI.

“The wicket looks fantastic, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a ground that looked as good as this,” says Michael Clarke.

“Both teams are excited to start the Test. We’re going to have to bat well today. We’re ready to go, the boys are excited, the players, the public the media, all are excited to get on with the game.

“What’s most important and what I know my little buddy would want is going out and playing cricket. I think the boys are fully fit and looking forward to another exciting summer.”

India opted to give leg-spinner Karn Sharma his Test debut with Ishant Sharma, Varun Aaron and Mohammed Shami to spearhead the pace attack.

Virat Kohli, captaining India for the first time in Tests, said, ​”It’s a pleasure for me, my first Test hundred was on this ground. Very special for me. Great way to get onto the field.

“I knew Phillip, he was one of the guys I spoke to more than most. He asked for my bat in a home game in Jaipur and I wish I’d given it to him.

“We’ve got more days than expected to prepare, had a couple of games where the guys have done well. Couldn’t wait to get onto the field. We’ve got the leggie playing today, Karn Sharma.”

Australia – David Warner, Chris Rogers, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (c), Steven Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Nathan Lyon

India – Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Karn Sharma, Ishant Sharma, Varun Aaron, Mohammed Shami.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *