India elect to bat in first Test against New Zealand

Indian won the toss and elected to bat against New Zealand in the first Test at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Thursday.

India vs New Zealand, 1st Test Match – Live Score

Cheteshwar Pujara and Suresh Raina are in the team to replace the retired middle-order batting duo of Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman.

Ajinkya Rahane, Piyush Chawla, S Badrinath and Ishant Sharma have not found a place in the playing eleven.

New Zealand recalled James Franklin, who will bat at No. 6, and Jeetan Patel, the lone spinner in the playing eleven.

Chris Martin also returned after being dropped for the second test against the West Indies.

Trent Boult and Doug Bracewell make up the seam attack, with Neil Wagner and Tim Southee missing out.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Umesh Yadav.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (Capt.), Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Daniel Flynn, Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Kruger van Wyk, Doug Bracewell, Jeetan Patel, Chris Martin, Trent Boult.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *