KKR vs DD: Kolkata Knight Riders elect to bowl against Delhi Daredevils

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won the toss and elected to bowl first against Delhi Daredevils (DD) in the opening match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2013 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Delhi Daredevils

KKR vs DD Live Score

KKR vs DD Live Streaming

Delhi Daredevils captain Mahela Jayawardene said, “It is a good opportunity for the other guys in the team. Sehwag is not fit but we have depth in the squad.

“We had a great campaign last year and we have to work on that. I missed some cricket due to injury but it is good to come back. It is a great opportunity for some of the guys.

“I was going to bat first since it is the first game and we want to put the runs on the board. I have been here for two weeks and we have gelled together. Warner, myself, Botha and Andre Russell are the four overseas players.”

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir said, “The weather is pleasent and the track looks good. The Kolkata crowd have been very loyal and they have turned up in good numbers.

“We are going to bowl. We do not know what a good total will be on this track. It is a different track to last year.

“Some of the guys have been playing international cricket and I hope that they carry the form ahead. The four foreign players are Brett Lee, Kallis, Morgan and Narine.”

Kevin Pietersen will miss the entire tournament due to a knee injury sustained in New Zealand, while Jesse Ryder was set to fly to India before being assaulted in Christchurch.

KKR: Gautam Gambhir(c), Manvinder Bisla(w), Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Eoin Morgan, Laxmi Shukla, Rajat Bhatia, Brett Lee, Sunil Narine, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

DD: David Warner, Unmukt Chand, Mahela Jayawardene(c), Manprit Juneja, Johan Botha, Naman Ojha(w), Andre Russell, Irfan Pathan, Ashish Nehra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *