Royal Challengers Bangalore elect to field against Kolkata Knight Riders

Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and decided to field against Kolkata Knight Riders in the 10th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 at the Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Tuesday.

Chris Gayle

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – Live Score

Royal Challengers Bangalore have been boosted by the inclusion of opening batsman Chris Gayle. Australia all-rounder Andrew McDonald is the man to miss out.

Kolkata Knight Riders have made two changes with Shakib Al Hasan and Ryan ten Doeschate replacing batsman Brendon McCullum and spinner Sunil Narine.

Kolkata Knight Riders captain, Gautam Gambhir, said “It’s important for us to turn it around, it’s a long tournament but we can’t play the kind of cricket we played in the first 2 games.

“Lee has a niggle in his hamstring but he said he is fit enough to play. We would’ve bowled first as well. Shakib and ten Doeschate return for McCullum and Narine.”

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain, Daniel Vettori, said “We always get good support here, they know their cricket as well.

ABD [AB de Villiers] is a classy player, he showed us what he can do. With Muralitharan in the side it makes my job a lot easier.

“We have spoken about momentum, that’s important. Bowling first suits us, especially with Gayle back in the side.

“Gayle returns for McDonald, happy that Gayle is back – he was fantastic last year and hope for more of the same this year.”

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Manvinder Bisla(w), Jacques Kallis, Gautam Gambhir(c), Manoj Tiwary, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Rajat Bhatia, Brett Lee, Laxmi Shukla, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Cheteshwar Pujara, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers(w), Saurabh Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Daniel Vettori(c), Vinay Kumar, Harshal Patel, Zaheer Khan, Muttiah Muralitharan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *