LG People’s Choice Award 2011 – Kumar Sangakkara

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara has become the second-ever recipient of the LG People’s Choice Award at the LG ICC Awards in London.

Sangakkara won the award beating South Africa’s Hashim Amla, England’s Jonathan Trott, West Indies’ Chris Gayle and India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

The award was chosen by cricket fans around the world who, over the course of four weeks had the opportunity to vote for their favourite player.

Upon hearing the news of winning the award, Sangakkara said: “It’s a great privilege having won this award especially since it was voted for by the fans. I would like to thank all of you, not just those who voted for me but everyone who come, day in and day out, to watch us play.

“We will continue doing our best to entertain you and keep attracting more and more fans to see this wonderful sport.”

LG People’s Choice Award 2011

  • Hashim Amla (South Africa)
  • MS Dhoni (India)
  • Chris Gayle (West Indies)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) – Winner
  • Jonathan Trott (England)

One thought on “LG People’s Choice Award 2011 – Kumar Sangakkara

  1. Mohamed Asham

    As SriLankns we are really proud Of Sanga. Congratulation for winning Both Best One Day Player and Peoples Choice Award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *