Misbah-ul-Haq named Pakistan Test captain

Misbah-ul-Haq has been appointed captain of Pakistan’s Test team for upcoming matches against South Africa. Shahid Afridi has been retained as the skipper of the ODI and T20 team.

Misbah-ul-Haq is making a comeback after the disastrous tour of Australia in 2009-10. He will be replaced by Zulqarnain Haider.

Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Asif, and Salman Butt were not available as they have been provisionally suspended over spot-fixing allegations.

Misbah will be Pakistan’s sixth Test captain in two years after Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi and Salman.

Wicket-keeper batsman Kamran Akmal has been left out as he recovers from an operation.

Pakistan play two Twenty20 matches, five one-day internationals and two Tests against South Africa.

Test squad: Imran Farhat, Taufeeq Umar, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah ul Haq (capt), Umar Akmal. Azhar Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Danish Kaneria, Abdur Rehman, Zulqarnain Haider, Umar Gul, Tanvir Ahmed, Mohammad Sami, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir (subject to fitness).

Pakistan ODI and T20 Squad: Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Tanveer Ahmed, Zulqarnain Haider.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *