Mumbai Indians add five uncapped cricketers

Reinforcing on its philosophy in spotting and nurturing young talent for the international platform, Mumbai Indians today inducted five uncapped players in its squad ahead of the fifth season of IPL.

The team management at MI followed performance of many youngsters throughout the domestic circuit this season and zeroed in on junior cricketers Apoorv Wankhade, Sujit Nayak, Rahul Shukla, Sushant Marathe and Kuldeep Yadav for their impressive performance, zeal to learn and passion for the sport.

Mumbai Indians has always believed on youngsters and have been successful in spotting the right talent in players like Ambati Rayudu, R Sathish, Saurabh Tiwary, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abu Nechim, Surya Kumar Yadav, Aditya Tare, etc. The youngsters have been fostered by the Mumbai Indians with high class advance training, playing attitude and technical skills development by the best in the industry.

Mumbai Indians is built on the ideology of ‘Play Like One’ and this has become an integral part of MI’s team composition.

While, Apoorv Wankhade, Sujit Nayak, Sushant Marathe and Kuldeep Yadav will don the MI’s blue for the first time, Rahul Shukla, who had been part of the team in the third IPL, makes a comeback.

Apoorv, a promising lad from Vidharbha, had impressed with his batting technique, ability to score big and quick runs and an agile fielder. At 19, he has exhibited consistency in both batting and swift movement on the ground in domestic tournaments including CK Nayadu, DY Patil etc.

Sujit Nayak is another youngster with relevant experience. Having represented Mumbai in C K Nayudu tourney for three years now, Sujit has the balance of both as a batsman and a left arm orthodox bowler. Kuldeep Yadav, the youngest of the five, at 18, is an unique left arm ‘Chinaman’ bowling talent. Kuldeep had notable performance in his first U-19 Cooch Behar season for UP and had been a consistent player in the junior category tournaments.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians – the Champions League 2011 winner – further strengthened its contingent by bringing in India’s top keeper in Dinesh Karthik and off-spinner Pragyan Ojha during the Transfer Window, and adding Herschelle Gibbs, Mitchell Johnson, Robin Peterson, R P Singh and Thisara Perera through the Auction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *