New Zealand squad for ODI series vs South Africa

New Zealand named 14-man squad on Monday for their upcoming three-match one-day international series against South Africa starting 25 February.

From the ODI squad that played Zimbabwe Dean Brownlie and Jacob Oram miss out through injury while Tom Latham has been dropped.

Jesse Ryder, Andy McKay and James Franklin have all return to the squad.

National Selection Manager Kim Littlejohn said, “The squad has a talented mix of experienced internationals and proven performers from domestic cricket.

“We decided to leave Tom out of the side. We are a pleased with his first stint at international level but in terms of his overall development felt it was best for him to return to domestic cricket. He remains in our thinking for the future.

“James has been in good touch during the current Twenty20 series while Jesse has been shown that he is ready for a return to top level cricket.

“Andy McKay bolsters the bowling attack and deserves his spot after putting in consistent performances across the summer.”

New Zealand squad for ODI series against South Africa

Brendon McCullum (c), Michael Bates, Doug Bracewell, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Nathan McCullum, Andrew McKay, Kyle Mills, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *