New Zealand T20 Squad for tour of India and T20 World Cup 2012

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has named the Twenty20 squad for the upcoming tour of India and ICC T20 World Cup 2012.

National Selection Manager, Kim Littlejohn said: “The squad has a good balance for Twenty20 cricket with explosive batmen and a good mix of pace and spin bowlers.

“If they play to their ability they will be a very exciting and extremely competitive team in India and at the ICC World Twenty20.

“Adam Milne has impressed during his time with the winter development squad and his extra pace offers something a little different. We are confident he will have an impact in international cricket and will seize this opportunity.

“We are thrilled to have Daniel Vettori back in the fold. He brings a huge amount of experience and knowledge of conditions in the sub-continent.

“The squad also welcomes back James Franklin, who has been playing for Twenty20 cricket for Essex in the county competition.

“Andrew Ellis, Tom Latham and Dean Brownlie are the players who were part of the Twenty20 squad in the West Indies tour to have missed out on selection this time. They are all quality cricketers and we are sure they will put a lot of pressure on us to pick them in the future.”

The first assignment is a Twenty20 series against India with the first match in Vishakhapatnam on 8 September and the second fixture in Chennai on 11 September.

The ICC World Twenty20 sees the BLACKCAPS in Group D alongside Pakistan and Bangladesh, with their first pool match against Pakistan on 21 September before playing Bangladesh on 23 September to decide who goes through to the next round.

New Zealand squad

Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor (capt), Kane Williamson, BJ Watling, James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Ronnie Hira, Adam Milne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *