New Zealand win toss, bat against South Africa‎

New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to bat first in the first ODI against South Africa in Wellington.

Dale Steyn

South Africa have included Jacques Kallis, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn and Faf du Plessis, who missed the Twenty20 matches, in the playing elven.

Pacemen Michael Bates and Andy McKay, and spinner Tarun Nethula, were the three players omitted from the New Zealand side.

South Africa captain AB de Villiers said, “History shows this ground favours the team bowling first but, to be honest, I don’t think it will make a big difference.

“The pitch is going to play well for all 100 overs.

“We hope to use the momentum of the Twenty20s to ensure we play to the best of our ability in this series.”

McCullum said, “We’ve got a new opportunity in the one-day series.

“We’re coming up against a good South African team who have shown what they’re capable of when you give them a shove.”

South Africa won the three-match Twenty20 series 2-1, clinching series victory with a three-run win in the deciding match on Wednesday.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum (captain), Kane Williamson, Jesse Ryder, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Doug Bracewell, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee, Andrew Ellis.

South Africa: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, A.B. de Villiers (captain), J.P. Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Robin Peterson, Albie Morkel.

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand, and Richard Illingworth, England.

TV Umpire: Aleem Dar, Pakistan. Match referee: Roshan Mahanama, Sri Lanka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *