No Indian players in the SLPL: BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has refused to give permission to the Indian players to take part in the Sri Lankan Premier League.

The reason of refusal is that SLPL will be run by a Singapore-based private company, Somerset Entertainment Ventures, instead of Sri Lanka Cricket.

“In the IPL the players are contracted by the BCCI, but the SLPL is offering contracts with the event management company,” said a BCCI official. “So, if there is any goof-up, Sri Lanka Cricket cannot be held accountable. As a result, the BCCI would not like to take any chances.”

“We took the decision at an informal meeting of 18-20 members held yesterday that no Indian cricketer will be given permission to take part in the league as it is being organised by a private party based in Singapore,” said the BCCI president Shashank Manohar. “The board’s policy is not to allow players to take part in private party-organised tournaments.”

Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Manish Pandey, Manoj Tiwary, Paul Valthaty, Ravindra Jadeja, Saurabh Tiwary, Umesh Yadav and Vinay Kumar were likely to participate in the SLPL.

2 thoughts on “No Indian players in the SLPL: BCCI

  1. anandhakrishnan

    it’s a big blow…huge blow….for slpl without them it would be a huge flop!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    now that’s gud news for indians…………!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *