ODI Player of the Year 2011 – Kumar Sangakkara

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara has been named ODI Player of the Year 2011 at the LG ICC Awards in London.

During the performance period, he played 25 ODIs and scored 1,049 runs at an average of 55.21, including one century and seven half-centuries.

As wicketkeeper, he also took 36 victims comprising 26 catches and 10 stumpings.

Sangakkara  won the award by beating Australia’s Shane Watson, Gautam Gambhir of India and South Africa’s Hashim Amla.

Sangakkara was unable to attend the awards due to playing in the recently completed Test match against Australia in Pallekele.

He said, “It’s a great honour first of all to have been nominated for this award and a great honour to have actually won it.

“I would like to thank the rest of my teammates, they have done a great job over the years in one-day cricket and I am privileged to be part of this and led these guys for just over two years. I thank you again, I feel very very proud.”

ICC ODI Player of the Year 2011

  • Hashim Amla (South Africa)
  • Gautam Gambhir (India)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) – Winner
  • Shane Watson (Australia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *