Perth Scorchers vs Hobart Hurricanes – Toss

The Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and are batting first in their Twenty20 Big Bash season opener against Perth Scorchers at the WACA Ground.

Former Test skipper Ricky Ponting and Phil Jaques will open the batting for Hobart, with Ponting keen to score some much-needed runs before rejoining the Test squad ahead of the series against India.

Perth has a powerful batting line-up, with natives Marcus North, Simon Katich and Mike Hussey linking up with internationals Herschelle Gibbs and Paul Collingwood.

Matt Johnston has been named 12th man for the Hurricanes, while Tom Beaton for Perth.

Perth Scorchers Marcus North (capt), Michael Beer, Paul Collingwood, Ben Edmondson, Herschelle Gibbs, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Simon Katich, Mitch Marsh, Nathan Rimmington, Luke Ronchi, Tom Beaton (12th man).

Hobart Hurricanes  Xavier Doherty (capt), Travis Birt, Ben Hilfenhaus, Phil Jaques, Jason Krejza, Ben Laughlin, Rhett Lockyear, Rana Naveed, Ricky Ponting, Owais Shah, Tom Triffitt, Matt Johnson (12th man).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *