Pune Warriors opt to bat against Royal Challengers Bangalore

Pune Warriors India (PWI) won the toss and elected to bat against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the 21st match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

Sourav Ganguly

Pune Warriors India vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – Live Score

Pune Warriors India have left out left-arm spinner Murali Kartik. His place is taken by Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have dropped off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan for batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Mohammed Kaif and Sreenath Aravind are replaced by left-arm spinner KP Appanna and seamer Harshal Patel.

Pune Warriors India captain, Sourav Ganguly, said “We have some guys who have played well for their countries and the local talent is also very good.

“At this level you don’t need to coach players and this is a short tournament as well.

“We will bat first, it’s a good surface and we look to put up a good total.

“Murali Kartik is not playing as we are going with an extra pacer.”

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain, Daniel Vettori, said “It’s an important game for us. Losing 3 in a row is not good.

“This track has played true and it has helped the team chasing.

“Unfortunately Murali is not playing, we need to strengthen our batting and Dilshan has replaced him.”

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers(w), Saurabh Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Daniel Vettori(c), Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Harshal Patel, KP Appanna.

Pune Warriors (Playing XI): Robin Uthappa(w), Jesse Ryder, Sourav Ganguly(c), Marlon Samuels, Angelo Mathews, Steven Smith, Mithun Manhas, Rahul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Ashok Dinda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *