Ranji Trophy Final 2012 – Tamil Nadu vs Rajasthan

Tamil Nadu will host defending champions Rajasthan in the final of the 2011-12 edition of the Ranji Trophy at MA Chidambaram Stadium, from 19 January 2012 to 23 January 2012.

Tamil Nadu entered the Ranji Trophy 2012 by virtue of the first innings lead over Mumbai in the semi-final that ended in a draw at the Wankhede stadium on Friday.

Rajasthan entered the final for the second year straight, following a 64-run win over Haryana at the Bansi Lal stadium in Lahli outside Rohtak.

This will be Tamil Nadu’s first appearance in a Ranji Trophy final, since 2003-04, when they lost to Mumbai on first-innings at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

Tamil Nadu have won the Ranji Trophy twice. The first instance was in 1954-55, when they beat Holkar in the final, played at Indore, by 46 runs.  The second was achieved in 1987-88, under the captaincy of S. Vasudevan. Railways were outplayed in the final, played at Chennai, by an innings and 144 runs.

Rajasthan will look to repeat their success of the previous season. They won in 2010-11, going all the way from the Plate Group to the Ranji Trophy final, and winning the title for the first time.

It was their first Ranji title, after being runners-up eight times. Hrishikesh Kanitkar, who led Rajasthan to their maiden Ranji title, will pit his brains against Laxmipathy Balaji of  Tamil Nadu, in the 2011-12 final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *