Sachin, Sehwag, Gavaskar, Kapil in ICC Dream XI

Four Indian cricketers – Sachin Tendulkar, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar and Virender Sehwag, were today named in the Greatest All Time Test XI chosen in an online poll.

Cricket lovers from across the world have cast more than a quarter of million votes this month to choose their Greatest Test team of all time.

Fans voted on the ICC’s official website to pick their leading eleven, as part of the activities to commemorate the 2000th Test Match, which will begin at Lord’s between England and India on Thursday.

Four Australians, four Indians, two West Indians and one Pakistani have been named in the people’s Dream XI.

  • Virender Sehwag
  • Sunil Gavaskar
  • Donald Bradman
  • Sachin Tendulkar
  • Brian Lara
  • Kapil Dev
  • Adam Gilchrist (wk)
  • Shane Warne
  • Wasim Akram
  • Curtly Ambrose
  • Glenn McGrath

Haroon Lorgat, ICC Chief Executive, said: “The huge interest generated during the past month was amazing as media and supporters worldwide speculated and then selected the fan’s Greatest Test team of all time. It supports our view of the everlasting popularity of Test match cricket.

“It would have been quite special to see this team take the field of play given the array of batting and bowling talent contained within the playing eleven.

“Selecting from such greats is no easy job, and not surprisingly, the selection mainly reflects modern players seen by present day supporters. There are many greats from the past who would have easily merited selection in this team, but it is nevertheless interesting to see the fans view on their greatest eleven of all time.”

A series of activities are planned during this week in the build-up to and during the England-India Test match to celebrate the 2000th Test.

Cricket lovers can share their opinions using #lovetestcricket and #testcricket on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *