Sachin Tendulkar in ESPNcricinfo all-time World XI

Sachin Tendulkar is the only current player in ESPNcricinfo’s all-time Test World XI. Four Australians, three West Indians, two Englishmen, an Indian and a Pakistani make up the XI.

Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist and Wasim Akram were the other players from the last two decades to make it to the XI.

Don Bradman, Garry Sobers and Shane Warne were unanimously picked by each of the 12 members of the jury .

The World XI is the final instalment in ESPNcricinfo’s all-time XI series, in which all-time sides have been picked for the leading Test teams. The shortlists that the members of the jury picked their World XIs from consisted of the players who made it to the country XIs.

The jury comprised one former captain from each of the top Test-playing teams – Ian Chappell, Clive Lloyd, Tony Greig, Duleep Mendis, Ali Bacher, Intikhab Alam, John Wright, Ajit Wadekar – and four cricket historians and writers.

The World XI: Jack Hobbs, Len Hutton, Don Bradman, Sachin Tendulkar, Viv Richards, Garry Sobers, Adam Gilchrist, Malcolm Marshall, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Dennis Lillee.

The Second XI: Sunil Gavaskar, Barry Richards, George Headley, Brian Lara, Wally Hammond, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Bill O’Reilly, Fred Trueman, Muttiah Muralitharan, SF Barnes.

Readers’ XI: Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag, Don Bradman, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Garry Sobers, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Muttiah Muralitharan, Glenn McGrath.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *