South Africa Squad For 1st Test Against Sri Lanka

South Africa has announced squad for the first Sunfoil Test match against Sri Lanka to be played at SuperSport Park from December 15 to 19.

Opening batsman Alviro Petersen has been recalled to South Africa’s 13-man squad. Uncapped Titans seamer Marchant de Lange has also been included although he is unlikely to play because of a dislocated thumb.

JP Duminy, Paul Harris and Lonwabo Tsotsobe have been dropped.

“De Lange has only played 14 first-class matches but he has impressed all with his pace and potential and he took full advantage of his opportunity against Australia for the South Africa A squad,” commented Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson.

“There is some doubt about whether he will recover in time from his thumb injury but, even if that is the case, he will learn a great deal just from being part of the national squad environment.”

“This squad has been chosen for the first Test match only and it is likely that we may choose a slightly bigger squad for the following two Sunfoil Test matches over the festive period at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead and Sahara Park Newlands.”

South Africa squad Graeme Smith (capt), AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher (wk), Marchant de Lange, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Ashwell Prince, Jacques Rudolph, Dale Steyn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *