South Africa squad for T20 against India

South Africa have announced a 15-man squad for the one-off Twenty20 International match to be played against India at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium on Friday, March 30.

Farhaan Behardien and Dane Vilas have earned their first international call-ups while Faf du Plessis, who has played 21 ODIs, will be making his international debut in the T20 format.

Johan Botha will lead the side in the absence of AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla.

Jacques Kallis, who pulled out of the Wellington Test with a stiff neck, was included.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe was the only other member of the Test squad in New Zealand to be selected.

“We are leaving all the players out who are involved in the current Test match against New Zealand with the exception of Jacques Kallis for whom there are special circumstances,” explained CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson.

“They will arrive back home two days before the start of the match, having travelled halfway across the world, including a 10-hour time difference, and we don’t believe they will be in any condition to play an international game of cricket.

“We still have a very strong squad for this important match including the bulk of the players who won the T20 International series in New Zealand.

“The three players who have been called up for the first time have all done extremely well in the domestic equivalent and this follows our policy of rewarding good domestic form. Behardien (1st) and Vilas (3rd) are currently high up the batting averages for the MiWay T20 Challenge and they also have imposing strike rates.

“We have chosen a squad of 13 as there is some doubt about the fitness of Kallis who has been ruled out of the current Test match. The team management needs to have plenty of options available such is Kallis’ all-round value to the side.”

South Africa T20 squad: Johan Botha (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Colin Ingram, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk, Dane Vilas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *